An “unlimited” email inbox in the Cloud

Do you work for one of those stingy companies who only give you a tiny email Inbox? My CIO gives me 120MB, which runs out two month after I joined the company. Even if you have a bigger one, it will run out fast enough because everyone likes to send large attachments around.

If you are like me, you will spend hours each week cleaning up your Inbox, archiving your emails, and backing up all your data. Well, I am happy to report that help is finally here. There is a new Outlook Attachment Remover from a startup that can detach your attachments and embedded images and put them on the Amazon Cloud (i.e., S3). For $0.15/GB/month (the price Amazon charges), you can get rid of all the hassles and have unlimited storage.

When I first started using their software, I did a few experiments to see how well it performs. I have an archive folder which has 12000 messages and it is about 890MB in size. The size is small because I deleted most attachments before I put the emails into my archive folder. After I converted them, my archive folder shrinks to about 400MB, which is very impressive since I did not have many attachments in the folder. I guess those embedded images take quite a bit of space.

Next I ran the same test on my working folder. My working folder has all important emails that I need to keep around for reference. They all have their original attachments because that is the reason I keep them in my working folder. It has 400 messages at about 200MB. After the conversion, it is at 25MB. Wow! That is a size that I can fit into the mailbox my CIO gives me.

After I converted my old mail, I just enabled the “auto-detach” option. So whenever a new mail arrives, the attachments are automatically stripped and stored in Amazon. If I want to convert it back for whatever reason, all I have to do is click the “re-attach” button.

I have been using the product for a few weeks and I am quite happy with it. I hope you find the tool useful too.

Leave a Reply

